Your Voices Need To Be Heard

Recent surveys and polls are showing that majority of Australians want to ban Muslims from immigrating to Australia.  These results have again raised fears amongst Muslims. Don’t Slam Islam is a campaign which hopes to minimise this fear and that is why I will be highlighting the positive comments I have seen during this campaign. Aussies are here to support, no matter what the polls say.

“As someone from a mixed background, I have always been proud to live in a country full of ethnic diversity and freedom of religion. Targeting minorities is not the Australia I will accept or partake in. My Muslim friends are like any of my other friends. I value them on the person they are, not their religious beliefs”– James Stevenson.

I hope these movements start making it easier. I hope you hear more from the people that wouldn’t normally bother to say anything because being Muslim isn’t an issue and less from those that find fault with something different“- Fiona Ramsey.

I stand for those who follow Islam – I join your movement and say Don’t Slam Islam too“- Julie Watt.

My Muslim friends were the most readily accepting of my sexuality.My best friend in high school was a Muslim.What my friend recognised that she and I, though of different genders, ethnic backgrounds, and religions, shared a common struggle against the enemy of hate and ignorance. This is why attempts to divide us in Australia will fail, and this is why any ally who persecutes my Muslim brothers and sisters is no ally of mine.“- André Bosch 

Absolutely great campaign!“- Lisa Jackson.

 


9 thoughts on “Your Voices Need To Be Heard

  1. I often pride myself on being Australian and living in such a ethnically diverse and accepting country. It’s important that we focus on the positivity that comes from our community and give less attention to those who discriminate and victimise people of different race and religion

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for sharing your view and showing your support. I also pride myself on living in a country like Australia where people are so accepting, that is why I initiated this campaign, so I can promote the positivity of our community. It wouldn’t have been possible without people like you 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment