Four reasons why we love Dr Susan Carland.

When writing a blog about Muslims in Australia, one can not go without saying something about sociologist, media personality, speaker and university lecturer, Susan Carland. Dr Susan Carland is awesome, and here are just a few reasons why.

1. She explored all religions before choosing Islam.

At the age of 17, Susan questioned on what she believed. She wanted to figure out if she actually believed what she was raised to believe, and with that started her search to follow a faith she truly believed in.

She told Islam, My Choice, “When I read about Islam itself, I realised it was actually very different to what I thought. It was actually very peaceful, very egalitarian, with a strong emphasis on equal treatment of women, and a strong stance on social justice.”

At the age of 19, she realised that Islam was the faith she truly believed in.

2. She turned hate into something beautiful.

 

Screen Shot 2016-10-05 at 11.37.28 PM.pngPicture: Twitter.com

In October 2015, she decided to donate $1 for every hate tweet she received.  She thought to herself, “What is the most good that could come from something so ugly” and that is when she took the initiative to help those who are in bad situations because of some sort of hate being inflicted on them.

Kudos to her for finding a way repel hatred, even though it could potentially make her broke.

3. She all about Muslim women fighting sexism.

Dr Carland completed her PhD in the school of Political and Social Inquiry. Her thesis was brilliantly titled, ““Fighting Hislam,” an investigation into Australian and North American women challenging sexism in their own communities.

When Dumbo Feather asked her why she did a PhD of Muslim feminism this was her response,

“I think because I saw it happening everywhere  around me. And I knew for a fact that it had been happening for hundreds of years in Muslim history. But very few people outside of the Muslim community seemed to know about it. And in fact, when I mentioned it to people they couldn’t believe that there were Muslim women doing this…My PhD wasn’t trying to say that every Muslim community around the world was this feminist utopia. It was saying, “Of course sexism exists.” No one can deny that. And I don’t do the sisterhood any favours by pretending this isn’t happening. What my PhD was about was saying, Yes, Muslim women recognise that there is sexism occurring in our communities—like in every community around the world—but they’re actually fighting back against it.”

4.  She hates being called the ‘Muslim power couple’. 

1462861318166        Picture: Sydney Morning Herald

Modesty is something which is very rare in our society, people like to take credit for what they do and I guess that isn’t a bad thing. But, when you see someone like Susan Carland, you’re left to wonder, how can she not be boastful about her achievements!

She tells the Nitty Gritty Committee, “If I’m asked to comment on things I will always preface it by saying I’m not a spokesperson, I’m not a community leader, I’m not an expert on these things I’m just a person. I have opinions on things but I don’t represent anyone other than myself.”

 


4 thoughts on “Four reasons why we love Dr Susan Carland.

Leave a comment